What is ATCOG?
The Ark-Tex Council of Governments (ATCOG) is a voluntary association of local governments organized in 1968 under authority granted by the Texas Legislature in 1965 (Article 1011 m. 2V.A.C.S.) We serve and represent nine northeast Texas counties and one southwest Arkansas county. ATCOG is not a government. We have no authority to make laws, levy taxes, or exercise police powers. We are authorized to:
Conduct planning.
Assist local governments in implementing plans.
Contract with local, state and federal governments and other public and private agencies.
Review and comment on applications of federal and state-grants-in-aid and solid waste permits.
Assist local governments in solving governmental problems.

ATCOG has three divisions: Finance & Administration, Housing and Special Projects; and eight program areas: 9-1-1, AAA, Criminal Justice, Economic Development, Environmental, GIS, Homeland Security and Transportation.

The ATCOG is one of 24 regional councils in Texas.  These councils are members of theTexas Association of Regional Councils.  ATCOG serves Region 5. Region 5 is made up of the following counties, covering over 6,400 square miles: Bowie, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River and Titus Counties in Texas and Miller County in Arkansas

Twitter Digg Facebook linked-in Yahoo Buzz StumbleUpon


Your email is never shared.
Required fields are marked *